About Us
Contact Us
Akaitcho Today

Welcome to our web site.

The NWT Treaty 8 Tribal Corporation represents four Akaitcho First Nations.

They are: Deninu Kue, Lutsel K'e, Dettah, and Ndilo. Its primary function is to negotiate the implementation of the Treaty that was concluded in 1900.

The basis of all negotiations is the implementation of the spirit and intent of the Treaty, based on the oral understanding of the Akaitcho Elders.
Our Vision
Akaitcho people working together to strengthen common values and beliefs through the spirit of coexistence, the spirit of unification and protecting our sacred Treaty for "as long as the sun shines, the rivers flow and the grass grows."

This sets the foundation and direction for the future generations yet to come.
The communities in the Akaitcho Territory are populated by the Yellowknives and Chipewyan First Nations people. They were very active in the early fur trade. The Dene of Akaitcho Territory live mostly on lands north, east and south of Great Slave Lake on approximately 480,000 square kilometres of traditional lands.

The Yellowknives Chief, Akaitcho, is said to have saved survivors of the first Franklin Expedition in 1823. Sir John Franklin named them the Yellowknives for the copper implements they carried.
The Chipewyans traded with both the Yellowknives and Cree in the east. Matonabee, a famous Chipewyan leader, led Samuel Hearne to the mouth of the Coppermine River.

Traditional aboriginal cultures and
languages are still practised today.

Akaitcho Treaty 8 Tribal Corporation

the_akaitcho_treaty_8_tribal_corporation001006.jpg the_akaitcho_treaty_8_tribal_corporation001005.jpg the_akaitcho_treaty_8_tribal_corporation001003.gif buttp_n.gif the_akaitcho_treaty_8_tribal_corporation001002.gif the_akaitcho_treaty_8_tribal_corporation001001.gif