Our Leaders

Dene people have traditionally hunted and trapped on the lands surrounding Great Slave Lake. Chiefs from the region have always tried to pattern their leadership after Akaitcho (left), who was well-known throughout what is now the Northwest Territories, and Northern Alberta and Saskatchewan for his leadership and skills on the land. Currently, Currently, Chiefs are elected to 3-year terms while Councillors usually serve 2-year terms.
Yellowknives Dene First Nation
Ed Sangris
Chief of the Yellowknives Dene Band (Dettah)
Lutsel K'e Dene First Nation
Steve Nitah
Chief, Lutsel K'e Dene First Nation
Deninu Kue First Nation
There currently is no elected Chief for the Deninu Kue First Nation.

Akaitcho Treaty 8 Tribal Corporation

butlf_n.gif butlf_b.gif butlf_b.gif butlf_b.gif
Akaitcho Today
Fred Sangris
Chief of the Yellowknives Dene Band (Ndilo)
About Akaitcho, The Chief
the_akaitcho_treaty_8_tribal_corporation010005.jpg the_akaitcho_treaty_8_tribal_corporation001003.gif buttp_n.gif
Contact Us
About Us
(Chiefs from Dettah)
(Chiefs from Ndilo)
Who are the Negotiators for the Akaitcho Territory ?
the_akaitcho_treaty_8_tribal_corporation001002.gif the_akaitcho_treaty_8_tribal_corporation001001.gif